Paralympian inducted into Sport Hall of Fame


Paralympian Chris Scott OAM has been inducted into the Queensland Sport Hall of Fame at the 2015 Annual Queensland Sport Awards in front of around 800 audience members at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre on 30 November.

Australian cyclist Christopher Scott stands on the podium after winning gold in Beijing.

Chris, who was born with cerebral palsy, represented Australia at six consecutive Paralympic Games from 1988-2008 in three disciplines – seven-a-side football, athletics and cycling.

He won 10 Paralympic cycling medals, including six gold medals. He received the Order of Australia Medal in 2000 and the Australian Paralympic Committee’s Senior Male Athlete Award in 2002. He captained the Australian Paralympic team in 2004, was Australian Disabled Cyclist of the Year in 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005 and 2008, was the Australian Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability in 2005, and was Queensland Cyclist of the Year in 2008.

Chris joins fellow Paralympians Geoff Trappett (athletics), Mike Nugent (athletics), Alison Mosely (wheelchair basketball) and Brendan Burkett (swimming) as inductees in the Hall of Fame.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email