Queensland Spinning Bullets and Toowoomba Bushrangers take out CLASSICS titles


The Queensland Spinning Bullets have dominated the recent Queensland Wheelchair Basketball Championships, also known as the CLASSICS, at the Brisbane Entertainment Centre on 9-11 June. The Spinning Bullets defeated the Frenchville Rockwheelers from Rockhampton 60 points to 20 in the grand final of the Premier Grade, while the Icemen froze out the Queensland Comets for 3rd place.

Photo: Queensland Spinning Bullets (white singlets) defeated the Frenchville Rockwheelers (black singlets) 60-20in the Premier Grade grand final.
Queensland Spinning Bullets (white singlets) defeated the Frenchville Rockwheelers (black singlets) 60-20 in the Premier Grade grand final.

The event welcomed 12 teams and 74 athletes from across Queensland to compete against some of the best in the state and be identified for future representative teams. The weekend also provided an opportunity for coach, referee, and scorebench official development through clinics facilitated by highly accredited officials and coaches, with 9 coaches, 12 referees and 35 volunteers all playing an important part in the competition and in driving the sport forward in the future.

The Toowoomba Bushrangers also had a very successful weekend, taking home the A-Grade and B-Grade titles. The inclusion of Cairns senior players Adam Howarth, Ben Griggs and Jacob McCarthy proved to be a winning strategy from coach and player Luke McErvale, while the experience of the Gold Coast Rollerblaze took them all the way to the grand final.

The new B-Grade competition welcomed three local juniors to their first state event, with Mason Warren from Brisbane taking out the B-Grade Most Valuable Player (MVP) award in his first competition. In the A-Grade Jason Robinson from Rockhampton took out the MVP award, while in the Premier Grade Matthew McShane from the Queensland Spinning Bullets won the Robert McIntyre MVP.

Full results for the 2017 CLASSICS are:


1st – Queensland Spinning Bullets
2nd – Frenchville Rockwheelers
3rd – Icemen
4th – Queensland Comets
All-star 5:

1.    Shannon Buxton (Icemen)
2.    Daniel Anstey (Spinning Bullets)
3.    Gemma Buchholz (Comets)
4.    Jason Holohan (Frenchville)
5.    Matthew McShane (Spinning Bullets)

Robert McIntyre MVP: Matthew McShane (Spinning Bullets)


1st – Toowoomba Bushrangers
2nd – Gold Coast Rollerblaze
3rd – Frenchville Rockwheelers Black
4th – Frenchville Rockwheelers Green
5th – Mackay Machines
6th – Suncoast Spinners
All-star 5:

1.    Ben Noonan (Gold Coast)
2.    Lachlan Steinohrt (Toowoomba)
3.    Adam Schreiweis (Frenchville)
4.    Ryan Williams (Mackay)
5.    Jason Robinson (Frenchville)

MVP: Jason Robinson (Frenchville)


1st – Toowoomba Bushrangers
2nd – Brisbane Bandits
All-star 3:

1.    Zach Binns (Brisbane)
2.    Dylan Barber (Toowoomba)
3.    Mason Warren (Brisbane)

MVP: Mason Warren (Brisbane)


Print Friendly, PDF & Email